Pay Online
Sign Up

NWCAA Board of Directors resets for 2018

Feb. 12, 2018

MOUNT VERNON – The Northwest Clean Air Agency has a new chair for 2018 and two new members on its Board of Directors.

Brian Heinrich, the City of Bellingham’s deputy administrator, will serve as chair. He succeeds Mount Vernon City Council member Joe Lindquist, who served in that capacity in 2017.

Heinrich said he sees serving on the NWCAA board as “a great opportunity to represent the City of Bellingham and Mayor Kelli Linville in promoting clean air initiatives.”

“My role is largely in an oversight capacity in ensuring that our policies are sound and staff has the support they need to fulfill the mission of the agency,” he said.

NWCAA enforces federal, state and local air quality regulations in Island, Skagit and Whatcom counties.

Six of seven board members represent the counties and the largest cities in NWCAA’s jurisdiction – Island, Skagit and Whatcom counties, plus the cities of Bellingham, Mount Vernon and Oak Harbor. The board appoints a seventh member to fill an at-large position.

The current Board of Directors:

Bellingham: Brian Heinrich, chair

Island County: County Commissioner Richard Hannold, vice chair

Skagit County: County Commissioner Ron Wesen

Mount Vernon: City Council member Joe Lindquist

Whatcom County: County Council member Satpal Sidhu (replaces former County Council member Carl Weimer)

Oak Harbor: Mayor Robert Severns (replaces former City Council member Jim Campbell)

At-large: Terry Nyman of Mount Vernon

The Northwest Clean Air Agency is responsible for enforcing federal, state and local air quality regulations in Island, Skagit, and Whatcom counties. In addition to permitting and regulating industrial sources of air pollution, the agency provides services and information related to asbestos, indoor air quality, outdoor burning, wood stoves, and fireplaces. More information about the agency is available at